Erik Burns Personal Injury

Milwaukee resident, Ascaris Mayo, is now $25 million richer as a result of a successful medical malpractice lawsuit. Mayo, 53, and her husband received an astonishing $25.3 million in damages after a Milwaukee County jury determined that Mayo’s arms and legs were amputated due to medical malpractice.

Mayo’s limbs were amputated in 2011 as a result of an undetected strep A infection. This infection led to a severe septic shock and the limb amputations. The jury determined that Mayo’s physician, Wyatt Jaffe, and his assistant, Donald Gibson, did not offer Mayo an any alternative medical diagnoses. Mayo did not pursue any further treatment. The jury decided that Jaffe was 65 percent responsible for the failed diagnoses while Gibson was deemed 35 percent responsible.

Wisconsin officials passed the informed consent bill in 2013. This bill decreased the required information that a physician must tell his patient. Mayo was treated by Jaffe before the law went into effect, so it was not applicable to her case. Jaffe never told Mayo that she might have a deadly bacterial infection, though it was indicated by her symptoms. Mayo’s attorneys successfully argued that she would have pursued further treatment had she been made aware of her life threatening infection.

The jury awarded Mayo $15 million for pain and suffering along with another $1.5 million for her spouse’s resulting loss of companionship. Yet Wisconsin law dictates that such non-economic damages for medical malpractice compensation claims are limited to only $750,000. The case will almost certainly end up being appealed in the Wisconsin Supreme Court as the difference between the state’s caps and the amount awarded is significant.

Reference: Denver Colorado Attorney

DUI Laws In Florida

DUI Laws In Florida

If you get caught driving drunk in the state of Florida call DUI-Lawyer-Crestview-FL for help. Getting caught behind the wheel of a car while you are under the influence of alcohol is a serious offense. Being charged with a DUI in the state of Florida holds a heavy penalty.

Once you are stopped by the police if they believe that you could possibly be under the influence of alcohol, they will request that you perform a breathalyser test. Once tested the results of your test will determine whether you walk away with a simple citation or if you will arrested and charged with a DUI.

If you are under the age of 21 years old, you are legally under the age to drink in any setting and under any circumstances so technically speaking the police have the right to arrest you on site. However the legal blood alcohol content for a driver under the age of 21 is .02. If you are caught drinking and driving and you are over the age of 21 your blood alcohol level cannot be over the level of .08. If you are a driving a commercial vehicle your blood alcohol level cannot be over 04.

If you are charged with a DUI and its your first offense you could face up to 6-9 months in jail and be charged with a fine within the range of $500-$2,000. You could also have your license suspended for 180 days and have to have an interlocking ignition device placed in your vehicle.

If this is not your first time being charged with a DUI the charges will be a little more sever. A second DUI offense would bring with it 9 months to 1 year of jail time and a fine of $1,000-$4,000. The offense would also carry a license suspension of 5 years (it holds the possibility of being reduced to 1) and it requires an interlocking ignition device be placed in your vehicle. If you are charged with a DUI for a third time you could spend up to 1 year in jail with fines ranging between $2,000-$5,000. Your license could be suspended for up to 10 years (with the possibility of being reduced to 2) and an interlocking ignition device would be put on your car.

In the event that you refuse to take a breathalyser you will face an automatic license suspension. If it is your first time refusing the breathalyser your license will be suspended for 1 year. If it is your second or third offense your license will be suspended for 18 months.

If you are pulled over while driving under the influence and your blood alcohol level is on the borderline it is possible that you can avoid the DUI charge and plea down to a charge of wet reckless. A wet reckless is a charge of reckless driving with alcohol in your system. In order for it to qualify as reckless driving the defendant can’t have a prior record and there cannot have been an accident. In the event that you are ever charged with a DUI in the future, there is a possibility that it can be treated as your second DUI as opposed to your first and the resulting sentence can carry the weight of punishment associated with a second DUI.

Are you or someone that you know in need of a DUI-Lawyer-Crestview in FL to help you determine what to do about the DUI charges that you are facing?

Contact DUI-Lawyer-Crestview-FL because everybody makes mistakes and a DUI is not something that you should handle alone. Let the professionals solve this problem for you.

 

http://www.knopeslawoffice.com/DUI-Lawyer-Crestview-FL.html

Just another WordPress site